On every “Booking” product you can choose between two different booking methods, with or without confirmation request from the admin.
In order to do this, you can activate or deactivate “Confirmation required” that you find in the product options.
- With confirmation request: Once the booking form is filled in, users can simply send a booking request. Only upon receiving admin approval, they will be able to purchase the product and then actually complete the booking process.
Click here to know more
- Without confirmation request: Users compile the booking form and, if the entire booking policy has been observed,(availability, time span, amount of people) then the product will be added to the cart and they can proceed to purchase it a normal WooCommerce product.
Click here to know more.
All bookings are recorded in the dedicated “Bookings” section in your WordPress installation.
Here you can both view all bookings details and download them as PDF files using specific buttons.
In the Booking details page, you can also find the option that allows adding two kinds of synchronization notes, Customer or Private. By selecting Customer the note will be automatically sent to the users associated to the bookings. On the contrary, by choosing Private the note will be kept private for the admin only.
The admin will be able to quickly see the booking details in the order, when the option “Show details in order items” in general settings, is enabled.
If you want to export your bookings in CSV or ICS you can do it through the bulk actions available in the section Bookings -> All Bookings.
You need to select the bookings you want to export, choose the format in the Bulk Actions and click on Apply.
The booking status is automatically changed based on the status of the associated order or on any actions performed by the user or the admin.
- “Paid”: if the order status is set to “processing” or “completed”
- “Unpaid”: if the order status is set to “pending” or “on-hold”
- “Cancelled”: if the user has cancelled the booking
- “Pending confirmation”: if the booking request is waiting for admin confirmation
- “Confirmed”: if the booking request has been confirmed by the admin
- “Rejected”: if the booking request has been rejected by the admin
- “Completed”: this status can either be assigned manually or automatically after a certain number of days if the option Complete paid bookings (days) in YITH > Booking > Settings has been enabled.
All changes in the booking status are notified via email.
After accessing the “My Account” page, users can verify the status anytime.
To get a complete overview of the bookings registered in the shop, go to “Bookings -> Calendar”. Here, you can check your bookings by month or day and also edit them singularly.
View booking per product
To view the booking calendar of each separate booking product, you can search and select the product you want to be shown in the search bar. The specific calendar with its related bookings will appear.
View Booking availability in the calendar
In the booking calendar, you are able to see the booking availability at a single glance. The first number indicates the bookable quantity, the second number is the booked quantity, and the third number is the max bookings per unit.
For an admin and a user to be always informed about the state of a booking process, the plugin sends automatically several notification emails:
Here is the full list:
- “Booking status”: is the email sent to the admin when a booking undergoes a status variation
- “New booking”: is the email sent to the user once the booking has been created in the “Bookings” section
- “Confirmed booking”: is the email sent to the user when admins confirm the booking.
- “Rejected booking”: is the email sent to the users when admins refuse the request
- “Cancelled booking”: is the email sent to the user if the booking gets cancelled.
- “Paid booking”: is the email sent to the user when booking goes to “Paid” status.
- “Completed booking”: the email is will be sent to customers after when a booking is completed.
The settings of these emails can be edited in “WooCommerce -> Settings -> Emails”.
Booking emails include the iCal event so that Gmail shows the event in the email as shown below.
How to request booking confirmation
You can request your users a booking confirmation by checking the “Confirmation required” box.
In this case, the “Add to cart” button on the product page is replaced by a different button that allows users to send a booking request.
The booking is added to the “Bookings” section and will be assigned the “Pending Confirmation” status.
The admin can either confirm or reject the booking request, by simply changing its status to “Confirmed” or “Rejected”.
In both cases, users are notified of the admin’s answer.
If the booking is confirmed, the email will contain a button to allow the user to go on and pay.
By clicking on it, the “Booking” product is automatically added to the cart and the user can complete the order.
Now the booking order is created and associated to the request that had been previously submitted.
How to reject pending confirmation automatically
With the option Reject booking (days), you can reject automatically those bookings with pending confirmations when reaching the number of days you have previously configured.
With the Complete paid bookings (days) option, the paid bookings will be set to completed automatically, as soon as the End Date has been exceeded by the specified number of days. Leave blank to disable.
Please note: it doesn’t take into account hours/minutes since the check is executed daily.
We talk about bookings without confirmation request when the product option “Confirmation required” is disabled.
When a user makes a booking, he/she is actually purchasing one of the products of the shop.
Therefore, if all booking criteria are met (availability, duration, people), the product can be added to the cart and purchased just like any other WooCommerce product.
As it regularly happens in WooCommerce, once the purchase is completed a new order is created and its status varies according to the payment method used.
At the same time, the new booking is recorded in the dedicated “Bookings” section, and then it is automatically associated to the related order.
To add a new booking from the admin panel, go to “Bookings > Create booking”.
Select a user for your booking and the product for which he/she needs to make a booking. Then, you can enter the booking details.
Finally, you can either create an order for this booking or not. There are three options available:
- do not create any order (choose this if you want to give the booking as a free gift);
- let the system create a new order that will be automatically associated to the booking (in this case, leave the “Assign this booking to an order” field empty);
- select an existing order and associate it to the booking.
Be careful if you choose to associate an already existing order.
This could cause issues with invoice management.
If you want to allow users to cancel a booking they have already submitted, you just need to enable the option “Cancellation available” in the product.
Your users will be able to cancel their booking no later than x days/months since the booking start date, based on the cut-off date that you can set using the “The booking can be cancelled up to” option.
Users can cancel the booking from their reserved area on your website “My Account” page.
The plugin does not handle any other refund option related to booking cancellation.