What an admin can do with subscriptions

All actions applied by administrators are recorded in YTT Plugins -> Subscription -> Activities.

Subscription actions

Search for a specific subscription using the dedicated search box and specifying the subscription name or ID.

Search subscription

Administrators can change subscription status when they want: go to the “Subscriptions” section of the settings panel of the plugin and select the related subscription. You can change the status with the action available in “Subscription Action”.

Subscription actions

There is a difference between “Cancel Subscription” and “Cancel Subscription Now”.

If you select “Cancel Subscription”, the subscription will be set to “Cancelled” but it will expire on the day when the renewal is due; whereas if you select  “Cancel Subscription Now”, it will expire in that very moment. This is particularly important if the subscription is linked to any other tool that grants access to contents as long as the subscription is not expired.

What users can do with their subscriptions

“My Account” page

In the “My Account” page, users can find the complete list of their subscriptions.

Subscription list

Click on the “View” button to view the details pof a subscription.

Subscription detail

Pause the plan

An active subscription can be paused if this has been configured correctly. In order to do it, users just have to access to the detail page of the subscription and click on the “Pause” button.

Subscription on pause

Pause configuration for admins

Cancel the plan

You have to activate “Allow customer to cancel subscriptions” in YIT Plugins -> Subscriptions -> Settings in order to allow users to cancel their subscription in the “My Account” page.

 

Allow to cancel the plan from 'My Account' page

 

Users can cancel subscription with the “Cancel” button they can find in the detail page of the subscription.

 

How users can cancel the plan

Pay the fee

The detail page of the subscription shows the date in which the new payment of the subscription is due.

 

Next payment date

 

If users have chosen PayPal, the payment will be done automatically. On the contrary, if they have chosen bank transfer or check, the day before the expiration date, a new order will be created with a “Pay” button they can use to complete the payment.

 

Payment button

Renew the plan

Users can renew their subscriptions clicking on the “Renew” button they can find in the detail page.

 

Renew subscription

Edit subscription billing and shipping address

If users need to update or simply change the billing or shipping address they can change it from the usual Addresses entry in My Account menu.

Yet, if they have more than one subscription, they can edit the address once and have it updated on all active subscriptions in one move. Checking the option Update this address also for my active subscriptions and saving will do the job.

Edit address

All future renewal orders will use the updated address.

Address in renewals

Force payment on My Account page

Whenever the first payment does not go through on the first payment attempt, your users might have to wait for a few days before the second attempt is made and their subscription can be re-activated.

Don’t make them get angry or nervous and allow them to force the payment right from My Account page.

If you are either using YITH Stripe Connect or YITH PayPal PayOuts for WooCommerce, your users will be able to see a button named Renew Now next to the suspended subscription plan.

To enable this feature, go to YITH Plugins > Subscription and check the option called Show the Renew Now button on My Account > Orders.

renew-now-option

Clicking on that button will let your customers force the payment and solve the issue in quick few steps and totally independently.

renew-now-button

Please, note: the button only appears after the first payment attempt fails and under My Account > Orders.

Moreover, it is only available if you are either using YITH Stripe Connect or YITH PayPal PayOuts for WooCommerce.

Remove subscription

If you enable the option “Delete subscription if the main order is cancelled” in plugin settings panel, subscriptions will be cancelled (and so removed) as soon as the associated order is cancelled.

Cancel subscription