Membership plan settings

Membership plans are the core of the plugin. With no membership configured, you cannot sort any kind of content. You can configure any membership plan you want. To create a new membership plan, go to Membership -> Plans and click on Add Plan.

Creation of a new membership plan

Now you can configure the general settings of the plan and of the content included.

Plan settings

To configure the general settings of a membership plan, click on the “Settings” option of the page.

Plan general settings

Firstly, select the product you want to assign to the membership. By purchasing this product, users will be able to access the content of the plan.

Select membership product

Now with the “Duration” option, set for how many days the content will be available to all members of the membership. Set to zero to offer unlimited access to contents.

Membership duration

With the option “Linked Plans” you can link different plans. In this case, selecting a new plan, all members of the “Golden” membership will have access to all contents of the linked plan.

Linked membership plans

“Show contents in Membership History”: this option lets members of a membership to see the complete list of the contents of the plan from the “My Account” page.

Content list in the My Account page

Set restrictions to download number

The plugin allows you to add restrictions to the downloadable items in your membership plan. In fact, you can assign a specific number of credits to the membership plan, which will be accordingly decreased of the credits assigned to each product that users download.
Let’s see together details concerning each of the plugin options to better understand how to configure it correctly.

Content list in My Account page

Follow these steps to configure the download credit system related to the selected membership plan:

  1. In option “Download number for every term”, set the number of credits that users receive once they purchase the membership. Specify “zero” value if no restrictions have to be applied to allowed downloads.
  2. In options “Define Download term” and “Download term unit” you can set the term until which credits will be at user’s disposal. You can specify this time limit in days, weeks, months or years.
    After the first term, the number of credits available will be restored, unless you have enabled option “Can be accumulated”, which allows adding new credits to the remaining ones.

By default, each time a product is downloaded, one credit is decreased from credit total, unless you have changed the number of credits associated to that product; in the latter case, credits associated to that product are decreased accordingly.

Credits - Single product

Each user will be able to see in his/her own “My account” page the number of credits required to download or access that specific item.

My Account page

 

Content selection

The configuration page of the plan is divided in two main sections: in the first one you can select all contents to include in a plan, in the second one you can configure the general settings of the plan. Let’s analyze them. First give a name to the membership plan, then select elements you want to add to it using the select fields you find in the tab “Planned items”.

Select plan content

As you can see from the image above, you can massively add contents by simply specifying categories and post and product tags. Moreover, you can specify also the name of pages, posts and products that you will include into the plan.

You can include any type of content available in the site (pages, posts, media, products) directly from its detail backend page.

Assign a membership to the product

To read in detail about content settings, go to this page of the documentation.

 

Plan content list

If you have configured the membership plan and selected all elements included, click on “Save” button to save changes. Now, a complete list with selected elements for the membership is available in the bottom of the page.

Complete list of content

If you can see next to the element the name of the category it belongs to, this element has been added from the section “Planned items” together with all other elements in the same category.

Category content

Ajax delete element

This list of elements will be available to users in “My Account” page (if so set) or in any part of your site where you decide to show it through the shortcode. You can edit elements from this panel: click on “Add title”, drag and drop the block into the list to divide it into sections and give a name to the new section.

Section title

My Account page

You can also sort your elements differently and easily by simply dragging and dropping them.

Membership list

A complete list of membership plans to which a user adheres is available on Membership > Memberships.Membership list

For each element of the list you can see the following information:

  • Membership ID
  • ID of the order related to the membership
  • Status of the membership
  • User associated to the membership
  • Start and end date of the membership

Click on the button “edit” of the membership plan concerned to show details. You can also search memberships based on fields of the order, for example the customer billing email.

Membership detail button

Membership details

In the same page you can also find a history of the membership plan subscribed, including also possible status changes it has gone through.

Membership history

To show the history of the membership to users, activate the “Show membership history in My Account page” option you can find in the settings panel of the plugin.

Activate membership history in My Account page

The membership history will be displayed in a new tab in the “My Account” page.

My Account page

 

Membership status

There are 7 available statuses for the membership:

  • active: the status of a new membership, which corresponds to the completed order.
  • suspended: user membership is not active.
  • paused: the user has paused his/her membership (they can pause it in membership detail page)
  • resumed: this status follows always “paused” status and it is set manually by the admin (in membership detail page). When this status is set, the plugin saves the number of day hte membership has been paused and will automatically postpone the membership expiry date. For the same reason, also visibility of the elements for which a delay had been set will be postponed.
  • expiring: status of the membership when it is going to expire (since 10 days before expiry) When this status is set, the user receives an automatic email informing about him/her expiring membership.
  • expired: expired membership
  • cancelled: user’s membership has been cancelled by the admin

Membership statuses

 

Edit membership

Membership can be paused, resumed or cancelled. To do that, go to membership detail page (Membership > Memberships) and select the one you want to edit.

Edit membership

Details concerning a membership can be edited if you have enabled “Advanced management” in “YIT Plugins > Membership”.

Membership advanced management

In this case, in membership detail page you’ll be able to see a dedicated section called “Advanced Adminisration” that allows you to edit every single field shown in the picture below.

Advanced Administration

 

Membership purchase

By default, non-registered users cannot purchase a membership. To edit this behavior, activate the “Allow guests to purchase membership related products” option in YIT Plugins -> Membership.

Purchase membership for non-registered users

In this way, any user will be free to purchase a membership, with no need to be registered to the site.
After the purchase, the system will create a membership with no user linked.

Membership with no user

Administrators can link manually the related user to the membership when they want by accessing to the detail of the membership and selecting the user with the specific option.

User-membership link