Downgrades happen when users switch to a subscription plan with a lower “priority”.
Once clicked on the “Switch” button, users are redirected to the “Checkout” page where they wil have to complete the purchase of the new subscription plan. The total of the new order will be equal to the amount of the new subscription plan.
In this case, the old plan will change immediately its status in “cancelled”, but it will also be available to users until the date of the next payment. In the meantime, the new subscription plan will be activated, but its starting date will match with the expiring date of the old one. this period of time will be free and recognized as a “trial” period of the new plan.