Configure firebase

The first step in plugin configuration consists in creating a Firebase account (skip to the next step in case you already have one)
Create a new application, so that you can get the parameters required by the plugin.

The procedure to create a new application changes depending on the new or old Firebase platform. Let’s analyze hot to do it in both cases.

Firebase site

Go to https://console.firebase.google.com/ and click on the “Create new project” button.

Create new project

The required data are: application name and your company location. Region selection also sets the appropriate currency for your revenue reporting. The selected country does not determine the location of your data for Firebase features. Google may process and store Customer Data anywhere Google or its agents maintain facilities.

App name and Country

Now click on “Project Settings”, as highlighted in the image below.

Project settings

Log in to “Database” section to recover the credentials requested by the plugin.

Database authentication tokens

  • Databases -> Firebase App Url
  • Databse secrets -> Firebase App Secret

Plugin option panel

Choose where to show chat popup

If you have entered the required data correctly and if you have enabled the chat plugin in YIT Plugins -> Live Chat, the chat window will be automatically enabled on every page of the site.
In case you wished to show the popup only in some specific pages, you can select them using the specific entry available in the plugin option panel.

Pages selection

To show the chat pop-up correctly, the theme installed on your site needs to use the function “wp_footer()” in its templates. 

Customize messages

In the tab “Messages”, you can find the options to customize the messages showed to users.

  • Chat Title: the title of the chat showed in the pages of your site.
  • Welcome Message: the text showed in the login form of the chat.
  • Starting Chat Message: the initial message showed when opening the chat.
  • Closing Message: the text showed closing the chat.
  • Offline Message: the message showed when the operator is offline.
  • Busy Message: the message showed to a new user when the maximum number of active chat conversations has been reached.
    With the premium version of the plugin, you can set the maximum number of simultaneous chat guests in the option Maximum Connected Guests in plugin option panel.

Messages

Customize colors

The chat window appearance can be customized in “Appearance” within the plugin option panel.

Appearance

Offline messages

Offline messages exist to give users the possibility to submit their request when the chat is busy or when no operator is online.
To allow offline messages, you should first ensure that the option “Hide chat popup when operators are offline” has been disabled.

Offline messages

On the contrary, if you want that the form is available when operators are busy, enable the option “Show the offline message form even when all the operators are busy”.

Offline messages when chat is busy

The form appears as in the following image.

Offline message form

In the Recipients’ E-mail option, you can specify the email address you want to use as sender of your emails. If you want to use more than one address, add them and separate them with commas (e.g., [email protected],[email protected]).
All the offline messages written by your users will be sent by the email you have set in Sender’s E-mail. Be sure to use a valid email address in order to receive correctly the messages.
If you want to send an email as automatic response to the user that sent an offline message, activate the Send Copy Of Message To Visitor option and add your message in Message Body field. Here follows an example.

Offline messages sent to users are also stored in “YITH Live Chat > Offline Messages”.

Offline messages

Open chat from a link

By setting #yith-live-chat as an URL link, the popup will automatically show when you click on it.
As an example, you can assign the above mentioned URL to a new entry of the menu.

Open chat from link

Assign role “Live Chat Operator”

Every user who has been assigned the role “YITH Live Chat Operator” can access the chat console, except for the site admin, who is automatically enabled.

Role chat operator

In the tab “users” you can configure general settings about chat operators.

User settings

  • Operator Default Role: this option allows “YITH Live Chat Operator” users to have the same privileges of the assigned role once logged in the site. The “YITH Live Chat Operator” role must be set in the users’ profile.
  • Operator Default Avatar: the default avatar for each operator. It can be modified from each user’s profile and changing the option of the “YITH Live Chat” section.
  • Maximum Connected Guests: the maximum number of the possible conversations to held at the same time. The default value is 2, but it is possible to set manually the desired limit. If users try to access to the chat when it is impossible to start new conversations, they will see the “Busy Message” of the “Messages” section.
To edit the chat operator nickname, go to the user profile and insert the new name in the “Operator Nickname” entry.

Operator nickname

Chat popup

Enable conversation copy request

Conversation settings

Activating the Enable Conversation Copy Request option (from the “Conversation Copy” section), your users will be free to request a copy of the happened conversation: this will be sent to the email specified during the compilation of the form.
Users can request a copy of the conversation only after one of the two speakers (chat operator or user) has ended it clicking in the available button.

Button End Chat

Request a chat copy by email

This is an example of the email that users will receive after their request.

Email example

A conversation copy for administrator

Activating the Send A Copy To Administrators option, the copy of the conversation is sent also to all the email addresses added in the Administrator’s Email Addresses option (remember to separate them with commas).
If no email address is specified, the email will be sent to the WordPress email address.

Conversation evaluation

If you want to allow your users to evaluate (positively or negatively) the conversation they had, activate the Enable Conversation Evaluation option: by the end of the conversation, users will see a form with two buttons and a checkbox to ask for a copy of the conversation.

Convesation evaluation

You can see evaluation for each conversation into conversation detail page.

Conversation details

Chat logs

All conversation details, and so also its evaluation by the user, are stored in section “Chat logs”.

Chat logs

The Chat logs section contains all the conversations held in your site. As you see in the available screen, the main page shows some summarizing details about each conversation:

  • User Name: the username used by the user to access to the chat.
  • E-mail: the email used by the user to access to the chat.
  • IP Address: the IP address of the user.
  • Date: the date of the conversation.
  • Total messages: the amount of messages of the conversation.
  • Chat duration: the duration of the conversation.
  • Evaluation: the final evaluation of the user (it is not mandatory).
  • Request Copy: this is showed only if the user requests a copy of the conversation.

Note: if two or more conversations are generated during the same session with a different username, all the previous conversations of the same session will be updated with the username of the last opened conversation.