Configure firebase

The first step in plugin configuration consists in creating a Firebase account (skip to the next step in case you already have one)
Create a new application, so that you can get the parameters required by the plugin.

The procedure to create a new application changes depending on the new or old Firebase platform. Let’s analyze hot to do it in both cases.

Firebase site

Go to https://console.firebase.google.com/ and click on the “Create new project” button.

Create new project

The required data are: application name and your company location. Region selection also sets the appropriate currency for your revenue reporting. The selected country does not determine the location of your data for Firebase features. Google may process and store Customer Data anywhere Google or its agents maintain facilities.

App name and Country

Now click on “Project Settings”, as highlighted in the image below.

Project settings

Log in to “Database” section to recover the credentials requested by the plugin.

Database authentication tokens

  • Databases -> Firebase App Url
  • Databse secrets -> Firebase App Secret

Plugin option panel

Chat console

If you have entered the required data correctly and if you have enabled the chat plugin in YIT Plugins -> Live Chat, all you have to do is to open the chat console: click on “YITH Live Chat” that you can find in WordPress admin panel.

Chat console

Every new connected user will be added to the list until the maximum number of simultaneous online users is reached. Moreover, in the right side of the conversation, you’ll be able to read details about the user and his/her access.

Single chat

The chat window is enabled on every page of the site by default.

To show the chat pop-up correctly, the theme installed on your site needs to use the function “wp_footer()” in its templates. 

Chat popup

Customize messages

In the tab “Messages”, you can find the options to customize the messages showed to users.

  • Chat Title: the title of the chat showed in the pages of your site.
  • Welcome Message: the text showed in the chat login form.
  • Starting Chat Message: the initial message showed when opening the chat.
  • Closing Message: the text showed when the chat window is closed.
  • Offline Message: the message showed when the operator is offline.
  • Busy Message: the message showed to a new user when the maximum number of active chat conversations has been reached.
    Please remember that the free version of the plugin can host no more than TWO active conversations, so the Busy message is shown to the third user. As soon as one of the active conversations ends, the login form will be available to your users again.

Messages